Quantcast
Channel: Mage Knight Board Game | Official Rules FAQ Thread | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 577 articles
Browse latest View live

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by Bleedat

After a brief discussion in one of the other threads, it was suggested I ask over here for an official ruling.

Q: Do Wound cards count as cards in hand when using the tactic Planning to draw an extra card?

The consensus seemed to be that they do, but the card terminology associated with Wound cards in the Walkthrough might suggest otherwise. As tumorous pointed out, though, the Walkthrough was not intended to be usedas a rules reference per se...

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by Luce

Bleedat wrote:

Q: Do Wound cards count as cards in hand when using the tactic Planning to draw an extra card?

Yes.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by PaulGrogan

Luce wrote:

Bleedat wrote:

Q: Do Wound cards count as cards in hand when using the tactic Planning to draw an extra card?

Yes.


This is correct.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by PaulGrogan

DaviddesJ wrote:

PaulGrogan wrote:

So, the influence is used as Block. It isnt fire Block just because Threaten is a red card.


I'm not sure, but I think he's asking about the advanced effect of Diplomacy, which lets you use influence as either Fire Block or Ice Block.


Ah yes, late night gaming, and I was tired :)

So, yes. You can play the stronger effect of Diplomacy for Influence 4 and choose Fire. So, now you may use Influence as Fire Block, and you currently have 4 Fire Block.

If you then play Threaten for 2 (or 5) Influence, that gives you an extra 2 (or 5) Fire Block.

The resistance of an enemy makes no difference here.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by CMoor213

In the Auction the Heroes variant is the first player to pick tactic the last one to receive a Mage Knight or the last person in the random choice order.

Example:
Choice order is: Jim, Bob, Fred
Jim picks Tovak, Bob passes, Fred bids 1 and is not matched.
Does Fred now pick tactic first or last?

I have heard the opinions on this and have no interest in hearing a discussion about it please. Just an official answer.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by LargeGoblin

How does Tovak's Resistance Break work with effects that remove resistances? Can I use Resistance Break on a monster with fire and physical resistance to lower its armor by 2 and then use Expose to remove its resistances?

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by MikePustilnik

LargeGoblin wrote:

How does Tovak's Resistance Break work with effects that remove resistances? Can I use Resistance Break on a monster with fire and physical resistance to lower its armor by 2 and then use Expose to remove its resistances?


Yes.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by Rathje

In the PBF6 Druid Nights game, Vlaada stated this:

2) The Healing points cummulate and expire at the start of combat or at the end of the turn. Note you can play Healing effects after combat.


So, there's an extra phase after combat? In step 5 of a turn structure, it states:

e. You may play any number of special card at any point during your turn. The same applies for healing cards, except these cannot be played during combat.


Does this mean that after combat ends, but before a players' turn is over, the player may play any special or healing cards, but not additional movement cards? In this post-combat scenario, a player could heal using Tranquility, but not Refreshing Walk?

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by pabula

You always have to check the icon on the card.
That is the most important thing in all cards. (edit: and also on skill cards, where I found an error on Tovak "I feel no pain..." icon ;) )
Move icons allow us to play a card only in Move phase which ends when you start performing any action in your turn.
Refreshing Walk can't be played.
Tranquility has Heal icon which can be played after combat.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by DaviddesJ

Rathje wrote:

Does this mean that after combat ends, but before a players' turn is over, the player may play any special or healing cards, but not additional movement cards?


Yes, definitely. Note that the fact that you can heal after combat is already covered in the rulebook, not just implicitly by the rule you quote, but explicitly on page 10, "Wounds and Healing", section 4(d).

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by DaviddesJ

MikePustilnik wrote:

LargeGoblin wrote:

How does Tovak's Resistance Break work with effects that remove resistances? Can I use Resistance Break on a monster with fire and physical resistance to lower its armor by 2 and then use Expose to remove its resistances?


Yes.


Note that the answer is clearly implied by the following, similar ruling from page 1:

Q: If I assault a City and play both Earthquake and Demolish, what happens?
A: The order is important. You should play Earthquake first to reduce the armor by 4 and then play Demolish, removing the site fortification.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by c_guenther

I'm sorry if some of these have already been asked, but I couldn't find official rulings for them anywhere.

So here's a couple of questions.

1. What exactly happens if you want to explore another tile after your tile-pile is depleted?

Under Movement (5e), the rulebook says...

"If there are no tiles left in the Map Tile deck when a player attempts to explore, he may use a random Countryside tile removed from the game during Setup. If all Countryside tiles have been placed, he can use removed non-City Core tiles instead. Tiles explored this way can only be placed such that they are adjacent to at least three oher tiles (to fill up holes). If there are no tiles in the box, no more tiles can be explored."

The "Tiles explored this way" part seems a little ambiguous. Is it referring to the previous sentence or to all the previous sentences?

i.e. Does that mean that ONLY non-City Core tiles need to be adjacent to 3 other tiles or both non-City Core tiles AND Countryside tiles do?

2. Half-fame for killing a grey unit in an another player's conquered keep. Do you round up or down?

As a general rule of thumb, when playing any game by Vlaada, I always assume the worst and that the game is "out to get the players" (especially in Dungeon Lords).

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by tumorous

c_guenther wrote:

2. Half-fame for killing a grey unit in an another player's conquered keep. Do you round up or down?

As a general rule of thumb, when playing any game by Vlaada, I always assume the worst and that the game is "out to get the players" (especially in Dungeon Lords).

It says "rounded up" right on the card.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by c_guenther

tumorous wrote:

c_guenther wrote:

2. Half-fame for killing a grey unit in an another player's conquered keep. Do you round up or down?

As a general rule of thumb, when playing any game by Vlaada, I always assume the worst and that the game is "out to get the players" (especially in Dungeon Lords).

It says "rounded up" right on the card.



D'oh!

Thanks.

I ALWAYS forget to check the legend cards when I have a rules question. It's kind of annoying that there are tidbits of rules info that can be found on those cards, yet can't be found in the Rulebook. They ought to be in the Rulebook too.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by tumorous

c_guenther wrote:

I ALWAYS forget to check the legend cards when I have a rules question. It's kind of annoying that there are tidbits of rules info that can be found on those cards, yet can't be found in the Rulebook. They ought to be in the Rulebook too.

The Rulebook already contains a lot of information crammed into its pages. Just think of the cards as conveniently detachable pages of the rulebook.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by DaviddesJ

c_guenther wrote:

It's kind of annoying that there are tidbits of rules info that can be found on those cards, yet can't be found in the Rulebook.


It's not "tidbits", all of the site rules are on the cards and almost none of them are in the rulebook. I do agree it's annoying.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by Sirris

When combining the Megapolis variant with the random tile orientation variant, where does the extra city go? I've been placing it to the right of the normal city from the reference point of the starting tile, but the text in the rulebook mentions ignoring the symbol on the green city, so there's a tiny bit of ambiguity.

Apologies if this has been asked before, my searching skills failed to turn up any answers.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by Nixitur

I read this entire thread and did a quick search, but as far as I can see, this question hasn't been asked before.

What happens to a loyal unit (unit recruited to the Bands of Loyalty skill token) when it gets paralyzed?

The card explicitly says that the unit can not be disbanded, but it doesn't say that it can't be destroyed. I can see a couple of ways this could work out:
a) The unit gets destroyed and the skill token gets removed. You can't use it anymore.
b) The unit gets destroyed and the skill token goes back to your collection of skills upside-down. You can't use it anymore until the next round.
c) The unit gets destroyed, the skill token stays there and functions as a regular command token (no loyalty effect, no reduction of influence cost).
d) The unit gets destroyed, the skill token stays there and functions as it did before you recruited the unit (the next unit you recruit to that command token costs less and is loyal).
e) The unit doesn't get destroyed, but wounded (probably overpowered).
f) You are simply not allowed to assign paralyzing damage to the loyal unit.

So, which one is it?

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by PaulGrogan

Well it certainly isnt e) or f) :)

It's also not b). It goes back to your collection of skills? :)

The correct answer is d).

You may not disband the unit, but it can still be destroyed as normal. At that point, the skill token is not just lost, it is still there, so it operates the same way as when you first gained it.

Reply: Mage Knight: Board Game:: Rules:: Re: Official Rules FAQ Thread

$
0
0

by MikePustilnik

I've been playing (d), but I am not 100% sure this is correct.
Edit: Paul just answered this, so now I am!
Viewing all 577 articles
Browse latest View live


Latest Images

<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>